3 Reason Comic Books are Great Literature

Shutterstock 2513537I stepped back into the writing world in 2010. I committed myself to embrace all the new changes. Even though I couldn’t wrap my mind around social media, I believed it was a useful tool.

My writing friends started from scratch. They learned their way around easily enough. I dove in head first with a good attitude. I fell flat on my face. Got back up, fell down again.  I studied my attempts, looking for the error of my ways. Then, compared it to the expert’s advice. Empty handed, I wanted to give up.

Determined to find a way, I read Platform, by Michael Hyatt. He showed me the big picture about social media and a writer’s life. A visual understanding emerged about how the parts fit into the whole. My confidence grew. I made a plan. I get it now!

Without an understanding of the whole picture, former action plans were a shotgun splatter into an abyss. Once I could see the big picture, assimilating the details was easy. I developed a rifle approach that worked for Ali Dent.

A person who doesn’t enjoy reading may feel the way I did — lost in an unknown world, wishing there was a way to love books.

Being told, “Social media was good for my business” wasn’t enough. I needed to see the machine before using its parts.

In the same way, telling a nonreader, “Books are good for you,” won’t cause him to come in from the backyard and read a book unless he has to.

Maybe there’s something he can’t see.

Imagining a story while reading is a key to enjoying the story.  Books are no more than a bunch of black lines on a page screaming at you that you are broken if you can’t make a movie in your head while reading.

There’s an easy fix for this.

1. Make it fun. In our home we get together with other families once a month, have a meal and talk about a book we all read.