Step Into the Light and Embrace Your Gift

I See You

by Adam Ramshaw

In other words, a Book Reviewer’s goal is to help the reader make wise reading choices. An Influencer’s goal is to help the author with promotion. — Author, Jody Hedlund

The LITClub releases on August 30. (BOOK TRAILER) I’m excited and apprehensive. I’ve never sold a book before. The closer to launch day I get, the more questions I have. I find myself wondering all kinds of things. Will others find this book helpful? How can I show them the book is available? I’m a debut author with very little social media influence. Who will even know the book exists? Can’t I just put my book “out there” and remain in the shadows?

I began reading the blogs of authors that I respect to find out:

* If I really have to be seen for my book to sell.

*If so, I wanted to learn how they learned to feel okay with the process.

*What they do to create a buzz about their books while maintaining friendships that weren’t based upon selling.

This is what I learned.

Whether an author is with a publishing house or not, she must promote her book. I prefer to be on the sidelines, so this was a tough pill to swallow, until I read this post by Jody Hedlund, 5 Ways to Take the Ickiness out of Marketing Our Books. She told me what NOT to do and gave me links to read that showed me how to enjoy it. In her post she shares a link to an article called Does Marketing Your Writing Feel Like Prostitution, by Diane Holmes. (I couldn’t have said it better myself.) Diane dispels this notion by bringing to mind the wrong thinking that many of us have about selling our wares. She shares a link to a post by Mike Duran that hit the nail on the head for me.

His perspective on the subject gave me courage to step out of the shadows into the light of marketing my book AND opened my eyes to the possibility of enjoying the process!